“A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.”

The Diabolic follows the story of Nemesis, whose been made for the sole purpose to protect Sidonia, a galactic senator’s daughter. She would give her life for Sidonia and when the Emperor  summons her as a hostage, Nemesis see no choice but to go in her place. She takes on Sidonia’s identity and must hide amongst the elite, hoping no one figures out the truth. This novel is a reflection of independence and humanity in a futuristic world, headed by a ruthless dictator, on the brink of conflict.

Upon starting the book I didn’t feel that it would be that good, as it took a while for me to get immersed into the concepts and plot. After getting used to the language and writing style I started to enjoy it more. It wasn’t until I was about half way through that I really started to bond with the characters and want to finish it quickly. Certain events made me really want to find out how the rest of the book would unfold, and so I read the second half much more faster. Once I was finished I was really satisfied and excited to read more. I truly enjoyed following Nemesis’ journey and development as a character.

The book addresses the conflicts within political and democratic beliefs, in a world where the people weren’t allowed much choice. Despite being set in space and a very futuristic world, it still seems to resonate with society today and how individuality and diversity is an important aspect. Nemesis faces much stereotypes in her journey that seems to reflect how different classes were/are treated and how in fact it is wrong to treat people as if they are lower than you. Being critical of this, Kincaid seems to promote how important equality is within a society. Nemesis’ relationship with Sidonia, though ‘programmed’ captures the importance of friendship and was beautifully crafted by Kincaid.

Although the writing style did take me a while to get used to, once I did I was totally engrossed into the world and gripped to the story line and especially the character of Nemesis. Kincaid is great at capturing images within her novel, making it so you can envision the world they live in despite the fact it is set in many different places within space. There were some areas that were a little predictable or unrealistic but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend to lovers of the Lunar Chronicles or anyone new to science fiction type books.


No. of pages – 416

Publication date – 19th October, 2016

Rating -4/5 stars

Genre – Sci-fi, romance, adventure, dystopian

Quote – “It’s terrifying to realise your own decisions are shaping your destiny.”

 

